Miami-Dade County Sued Over Immigration Policy

first_imgPhoto Courtesy of University of Miami The University of Miami School of Law’s Immigration Clinic has filed a federal suit against Miami-Dade County for illegally detaining a U.S. citizen under its controversial jail policy of holding people in lockup for immigration authorities.The suit, filed on behalf of an 18-year-old US citizen, asks Miami-Dade County and County Mayor Carlos Gimenez for monetary damages.The lawsuit, joined by the law firm of Kurzban, Kurzban, Weinger, Tetzeli & Pratt, P.A. and the American Civil Liberties Union of Florida, challenges Miami-Dade County’s policy of detaining people beyond the end of their criminal custody solely for a suspected civil immigration violation.Adopted by Mayor Gimenez on January 26, 2017, the immigration detainer policy violates the U.S. Constitution, including the prohibition against unlawful seizures under the Fourth Amendment and the guarantee of due process under the Fourteenth Amendment, according to the filing. Florida law also prohibits jail officials from detaining people for civil immigration purposes.Garland Creedle was jailed at Turner Guilford Knight Correctional Center after police arrested him after an alleged domestic dispute. Creedle paid his bond shortly after he was arrested, but county jail officials failed to release him and instead held him for immigration officials. No criminal charges were ever filed in court against Creedle.Miami-Dade County has been detaining people in jail for federal immigration enforcement officials ever since President Trump threatened in January to cut off funding for cities deemed “sanctuary cities.”Creedle was born in Honduras to a U.S. citizen father and has been a U.S. citizen since birth. Immigration authorities have been aware of Creedle’s U.S. citizenship since 2015, when they filed a motion to terminate immigration court proceedings against Creedle because he is a U.S. citizen.“The Mayor and County Commissioners failed to listen to our community’s overwhelming opposition to this immigration jail policy,” said Rebecca Sharpless, attorney for Garland Creedle and director of the Immigration Clinic at Miami Law. “Mixing our local criminal justice system with federal immigration enforcement is not only bad policy, it is illegal. We are all now paying the price.”Copyright 2017 – Caribbean National Weekly Newslast_img read more

Total domination of the transfer market! Chelsea also took Chillwell…

first_imgChelsea continues with strong transfers! The “Blues” announced the attraction of the English national Ben Chillwell. The 23-year-old defender arrived at Stamford Bridge for the sum of 50 million pounds, and the term of the contract is 5 years.BENISBLUE.Welcome to Chelsea, @BenChilwell! 💙 #BenIsBlue– Chelsea FC (@ChelseaFC) August 26, 2020“I am happy to be part of Chelsea at this exciting time for the club. I can’t wait to be part of this young, dynamic line-up led by Frank Lampard. I hope to play for the team soon,” Chillwell said in a statement. Chelsea.Chillwell joins the company of newcomers Hakim Ziesh and Timo Werner, and according to the English media, Kai Havertz will soon land at Stamford Bridge.“We are confident that Ben will adapt quickly to the team and the difficult program for the upcoming season. He is a great addition to the team that will fight for awards,” said Marina Granovski, who is responsible for transfers at the club. Follow us anywhere and anytime with the mobile application of You can download it from Google Play, App Store and AppGallery.last_img read more

Change of plans leads Gustin to first Deery Series victory

first_imgRichie Gustin slips beneath Justin Mitchell as they battle for the lead in the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models at Independence Motor Speedway Saturday, April 22. Gustin went on to record his career first series win. (Scott Swenson photo)INDEPENDENCE, Iowa (April 22) – Richie Gustin is glad he reconsidered his plans Saturday.After initially expecting to take the night off from racing, Gustin decided to make the trip to Independence Motor Speedway for the Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models.By night’s end, he was standing in victory lane celebrating the first series win of his career.Gustin made his way past race-long leader Justin Mitchell with 11 laps to go in the 40-lapper to drive to the milestone victory.Pole-sitter Mitchell assumed command early with Gustin in tow. The leader reached slower traffic after just 10 laps with Gustin remaining in pursuit the entire time.Gustin stuck with him and was eventually able to work the low side past Mitchell exiting turn two on lap 29. He led the rest of the way to secure the $2,000 payday ahead of Mitchell.Travis Denning, Luke Goedert and Curt Martin completed the top five in the caution-free feature.Tyler Bruening crossed the line third, however his rearend axle housing failed post-race inspection.Gustin became the fourth different winner in as many series events this season and the 98th different feature winner in the 31-year history of the Late Model tour.Thirty-five Late Models signed in to compete Saturday night.Gustin, Goedert, Rick Wendling and Cayden Carter earned $50 each from Malvern Bank for their heat race wins.Goedert was also the winner of the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.The series visits Dubuque Speedway Sunday, April 23 for a $2,000-to win event to conclude the Highway 20 Triple Crown weekend.Heading into the final installment of the Triple Crown, Gustin holds a two point lead over Carter.Feature results – 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman; 2. Justin Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 3. Travis Denning, Sterling, Ill.; 4. Luke Goedert, Guttenburg; 5. Curt Martin, Independence; 6. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 7. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 8. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 9. Rick Wendling, Hazleton; 10. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 11. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 12. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque; 13. Luke Pestka, Robins; 14. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 15. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 16. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill; 17. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 18. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 19. Paul Conrad, Colo; 20. Troy Hovey, Decorah; 21. Rob Toland, Colona, Ill.; 22. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 23. Curt Schroeder, Newton; DQ Tyler Bruening, Decorah.1st heat (top three) – 1. Wendling; 2. Hinrichs; 3. Mitchell; 4. Schroeder; 5. Sobbing; 6. Hovey; 7. Sean Johnson, Independence; 8. Bryce Carey, Ionia; 9. Ben Seemann, Waterloo.2nd heat – 1. Goedert; 2. Callahan; 3. Jay Johnson; 4. Hurst; 5. Conrad; 6. Toland; 7. Brian Hunter, Independence; 8. Brunson Behning, Davenport; 9. Gary Webb, Blue Grass.3rd heat – 1. Carter; 2. Denning; 3. Martin; 4. DeFrance; 5. Ryan; 6. Rory Metcalf, Iowa City; 7. John Emerson, Waterloo; 8. Kyle Krampe, Baxter; 9. Jon Passick, Waterloo.4th heat – 1. Gustin; 2. Neal; 3. Pestka; 4. Bruening; 5. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 6. Aikey; 7. Holladay; 8. Tharp.1st “B” feature (top five) – 1. Sobbing; 2. DeFrance; 3. Ryan; 4. Schroeder; 5. Hovey; 6. Metcalf; 7. Emerson; 8. Sean Johnson; 9. Krampe; 10. Seemann; 11. Carey; 12. Passick.2nd “B” feature – 1. Hurst; 2. Bruening; 3. Conrad; 4. Toland; 5. Aikey; 6. Eckrich; 7. Holladay; 8. Tharp; 9. Behning; 10. Webb.last_img read more