Shawnee Mission pre-kindergarten enrollment opens today, programs to be offered at 3 new schools

first_imgEnrollment for the Shawnee Mission School District’s pre-kindergarten programs for the 2018-19 school year opens this morning — and slots fill up quickly.The pre-K programs are available to students who live in the district boundaries and who are 4 years old by August 31, but who are not old enough to be eligible to attend kindergarten. The programs offer two daily session, from 8:15 to 11 a.m. and from 12:15 to 3 p.m., that provide a “mix of learning experiences that promote social, emotional, physical, language, and cognitive development,” according to the district.The district’s pre-K programs will be offered at 17 school building next year, three more than host programs this year. The new programs are:A tuition option at Rhein Benninghoven ElementaryA no-fee options for qualified families at the new Lenexa Hills ElementaryA tuition option at Highlands ElementaryThe full list of program sites for 2018-19 is as follows:No-fee half-day Title I Pre-K option (Qualifications apply)ApacheISBluejacket-FlintCrestviewMerriam ParkRising StarRoeslandRosehillShawanoeNo-fee half-day grant-funded Pre-K option (Qualifications apply)BriarwoodBrookridgeBroken ArrowComancheHighlandsLenexa HillsSanta Fe TrailShawanoeTuition-based half-day Pre-KBriarwoodHighlandsRhein BenninghovenTrailwoodFor students who do not qualify for tuition-free or grant-funded programs, the cost of the program is $15 per day. With 170 days in the program, the total cost for the year is $2,250.To enroll, parents can show up at the school site where their child will attend pre-K programs any time between 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m.“Pre–K students should plan to accompany their parents to enrollment day,” reads a message from the district. “Enrollment applications will be processed on a first-come, first-serve basis.”The district has an explanation of the eligibility requirements for the free pre-K options on its website here.last_img read more

Deery Series, Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour sweep puts Kay in IMCA record book

first_imgJustin Kay became the first driver to win IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series Late Model and Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour Modified features on the same night Tuesday at West Liberty Raceway. (Photo by Mike Ruefer)WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (June 13) – Justin Kay’s first trip to victory lane Tuesday night at West Liberty Raceway put $1,000 in his pocket.His second put him in the record book.Already of the winner of the Arnold Motor Supply Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds, Kay be­came the first driver to win Dirt Tour and Deery Brothers Summer Series main events on the same night when he followed with a convincing run to the $2,000 IMCA Late Model tour checkers.“Winning both races is always the goal. We were really close one night in Tipton (in 2015) when we won the Deery feature and finished second in the Dirt Tour feature,” Kay said. “It’s really cool to be the first driver to win both events on the same night but I don’t think I’ll be the only one who does it.”The Deery win was Kay’s second straight and fourth of the season. Seven of his career 23 tour wins have come at West Liberty.The two-time series champion reeled in current point leader Jesse Sobbing for the lead at mid­way. The two swapped lanes and the lead while running in traffic before Kay got a five-car length advantage in the blink of an eye.His lead was half a straightaway on lap 30 and no one had anything for Kay in the final 10 cir­cuits.Sobbing settled for second and Denny Eckrich, winner of the April event at West Liberty, was third. Matt Ryan and Kyle Hinrichs completed the top five.Curt Martin was the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner. Nick Marolf, Chad Holladay and Kay were $50 Malvern Bank heat race winners.Feature results – 1. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 2. Jesse Sobbing, Malvern; 3. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin; 4. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 5. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher; 6. Chad Holladay, Muscatine; 7. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 8. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque; 9. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 10. Ron Boyse, Kalona; 11. Jake Neal, Omaha, Neb.; 12. Nick Marolf, Wilton; 13. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon; 14. Rob Moss, Iowa City; 15. Curt Martin, Independence; 16. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 17. Jonathan Brauns, Muscatine; 18. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa; 19. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 20. Jeff Tharp, Sherrill; 21. Dave Wada, Wilton; 22. Kevin Kile, West Liberty.1st heat – 1. Marolf; 2. Ryan; 3. Callahan; 4. Boyse; 5. Andy Eckrich; 6. Kile; 7. Schroeder; 8. Moss.2nd heat – 1. Holladay; 2. Brauns; 3. Denny Eckrich; 4. DeFrance; 5. Martin; 6. Carter; 7. Wada.3rd heat – 1. Kay; 2. Dolan; 3. Sobbing; 4. Hinrichs; 5. Neal; 6. Hurst; 7. Tharp.last_img read more